Historical informatics
12+
Journal Menu
> Issues > Rubrics > About journal > Authors > About the Journal > Requirements for publication > Review procedure > Article retraction > Ethics > Legal information > Editorial Board > Council of Editors
Journals in science databases
About the Journal

MAIN PAGE > Journal "Historical informatics" > Rubric "Peer reviews"
Peer reviews
Borodkin L.I. - Review of the Book by Shchapova Yu.L. and Grinchenko S.N. Introduction into the Theory of the Archeological Epoch: Numerical Modeling and Logarithmic Scales of Spatiotemporal Data. M.: The History Faculty of Moscow State University, the Federal Research Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences Computer
Science and Management, 2017. -236 pages. (Works of the History Faculty of MSU, Issue. 97. Series II, Historical Studies, 51).
pp. 109-112

DOI:
10.7256/2585-7797.2018.1.25964

Abstract: The author considers the main achievements and discussion points of the monograph which proposes the principles of chronology and periodization of the archaeological epoch, its generalized numerical model combining the Fibonacci's and the informatics-cybernetics models.The capabilities of inductive and deductive models are discussed. Numerical modeling is considered within the framework of the deductive approach. The universality of the mathematical model based on the Fibonacci series defining the "golden proportion" is noted. It is shown that the use of a multidisciplinary approach based on mathematical modeling of long-duration archaeological epochs allows us to consider it as a new concept of global history. The author discusses the problems of the monograph within the framework of the methodology of modeling historical processes and developing concepts of “Big history”. Consideration of the issues of periodization of long-duration processes is carried out within the context of their predictability, the relationship of regularities and randomness, mechanisms of self-organization and algorithms of "adaptive random search". The article concludes that it is important to estimate the moments of system information transformations within the framework of the Fibonacci model and emphasizes the role of this model for the formation of new hypotheses in historical and archaeological studies. 
Borodkin L.I. - Review of Arnold T., Tilton L. Humanities Data in R: Exploring Networks, Geospatial Data, Images and Text. Springer, 2017. - 211 p. pp. 126-132

DOI:
10.7256/2585-7797.2018.2.26986

Abstract: The article briefly describes the integrated software R and the book by American authors about the use of R in humanities and social sciences. This book demonstrates functions of R which has become popular in applied studies of different research fields and now is widely used in humanities as well. The authors’ aim is to teach the humanities readers to use R functions in four spheres of data work which are important for humanities scholars and represented by networks, texts, maps and images. The book employs the comparative approach (to compare R package with other software tools) and is the first to characterize R when one works with data of studies in humanities. Taking into account that R is not widely applied by Russian humanities scholars, brief information about this nontrivial software is provided. The open source programming language R and its numerous packages is conspicuous of modern approach to analyze heterogeneous data. 
Garskova I.M. - The International Conference "Historical Studies in a Digital Epoch: Information Resources, Methods and Technologies" pp. 140-153

DOI:
10.7256/2306-0891.2017.1.22689

Abstract: The article aims at analyzing the reports and messages of the 15th conference of the “History and Computer” association (AIK). The comparison of conference materials with the historiography of Russian historical computer science provides for characterizing theoretical and applied problems related to the use of information technologies and mathematical methods in history as well as revealing new trends of this interdisciplinary field nowadays. The attention is primarily given to such aspects as the development and interaction of modern information technologies, professional information sources as well as analytical methods and approaches. The study employs classification analysis and comparative analysis methods of the problematic field of AIK’s conference materials in relation to research domains and schools of thought that have been formed in historical computer science for the last 25 years. The informational basis is a full-text collection and a bibliographic database of AIK’s publications. The study demonstrates that the conference topics are in line with two main domains of historical computer science: an informational one aiming at creation and employment of informational infrastructure – electronic resources, data bases, historical GIS, 3D reconstructions of historical and cultural heritage objects, and an analytical one involving historical source processing and analysis with the help of computer modeling methods, mathematical statistics, content-analysis, network analysis and spatial analysis. Interaction of these domains provides the growing number of digital on-line sources with the necessary research tools.
Vladimirov V. - Review: Yumasheva Yu.Yu. Informatization of Archival Studies in the Russian Federation (1991-2015). Studies in the Sphere of Information Technologies Application: Monograph / Yu.Yu. Yumasheva. M.; Berlin: Direct-Media, 2016. 355 p.
pp. 173-178

DOI:
10.7256/2585-7797.2017.3.24224

Abstract: The article reviews the monograph by Yu.Yu. Yumasheva “Informatization of Archival Studies in the Russian Federation (1991-2015)”. It is noted that the overview of papers by researchers and those practically involved in archival studies for a 30-year period provides for precious results related to the evaluation of archival studies informatization within the frames of general informatization in the country. Yu.Yu. Yumasheva is both a well-known experienced archivist and a professional historian in the historical information science domain. The structure of the monograph is found appropriate as it consists of several thematic parts covering the main issues of archival studies informatization. The review rates the monograph high. The novelty of the study is its elimination of important gaps in the archival studies domain and is of value to anyone interested in Russian archives, their condition, prospects, documents stored and those willing their transformation into modern institutions corresponding to the information society level.
Other our sites:
Official Website of NOTA BENE / Aurora Group s.r.o.
"History Illustrated" Website

по
Историческая информатика
12+
Меню журнала
> Архив номеров > Рубрики > О журнале > Авторы > О журнале > Требования к статьям > Порядок рецензирования статей > Ретракция статей > Этические принципы > Правовая информация > Редакция > Редакционный совет
Журналы индексируются
Реквизиты журнала

ГЛАВНАЯ > Журнал "Историческая информатика" > Рубрика "Рецензии и обзоры"
Рецензии и обзоры
Бородкин Л.И. - Рец. на : Щапова Ю.Л., Гринченко С.Н. Введение в теорию археологической эпохи: числовое моделирование и логарифмические шкалы пространственно-временных координат. – М.: Исторический факультет Моск. Ун-та, Федеральный исслед. Центр «Информатика и управление» РАН, 2017. -236 с. – (Труды исторического факультета МГУ, вып. 97. Сер. II, Исторические исследования, 51). c. 109-112

DOI:
10.7256/2585-7797.2018.1.25964

Аннотация: Рассматриваются основные достижения и дискуссионные моменты монографии, в которой предлагаются принципы хронологии и периодизации археологической эпохи, ее обобщенная числовая модель, объединяющая «Фибоначчиеву» и «информатико-кибернетическую» модели. Обсуждаются возможности индуктивных и дедуктивных моделей, числовое моделирование рассматривается в рамках дедуктивного подхода. Отмечается универсальность математической модели, основанной на ряде Фибоначчи, определяющего «золотую пропорцию». Показано, что использование мультидисциплинарного подхода, основанного на математическом моделировании археологических эпох большой длительности, позволяет рассматривать его в качестве новой концепции глобальной истории. Обсуждение проблематики монографии ведется в рамках методологии моделирования исторических процессов и развивающихся концепций "большой истории". Рассмотрение вопросов периодизации процессов большой длительности ведется в контексте их предсказуемости, соотношения закономерностей и случайностей, механизмов самоорганизации, алгоритмов «адаптивного случайного поиска». Делается вывод о важности оценок моментов системных информационных трансформаций в рамках "Фибоначчиваемой" модели, подчеркивается роль этой модели для формирования новых гипотез в историко-археологических исследованиях.
Бородкин Л.И. - Рец. на: T. Arnold, L. Tilton. Humanities Data in R: Exploring Networks, Geospatial Data, Images, and Text. Springer, 2017. - 211 p. c. 126-132

DOI:
10.7256/2585-7797.2018.2.26986

Аннотация: В данной работе дается краткая характеристика интегрированного программного обеспечения R и книги американских авторов, посвященной использованию R в гуманитарных и социальных науках. Рецензируемая книга показывает читателям возможности R, получившего в течение последнего десятилетия широкое распространение в прикладных исследованиях самых разных областей знания, включая теперь и гуманитарные науки. Цель авторов книги – научить читателей-гуманитариев использовать возможности R в четырех областях работы с данными, важных для гуманитариев и представленных сетями, текстами, картами и изображениями. В данной публикации используется в основном компаративный подход (для сравнения пакета R с другими программными средами). В данной публикации впервые дается характеристика R в работе с данными, возникающими при рассмотрении задач гуманитарных исследований.Учитывая, что опыт применения R российскими гуманитариями пока невелик, приводятся краткие сведения об этой незаурядной разработке. Язык программирования с открытым исходным кодом R, с его многочисленными пакетами отражает современный подход к анализу разнородных данных.
Гарскова И.М. - Международная научная конференция «Исторические исследования в цифровую эпоху: информационные ресурсы, методы, технологии» c. 140-153

DOI:
10.7256/2306-0891.2017.1.22689

Аннотация: Целью работы является анализ докладов и сообщений XV конференции ассоциации «История и компьютер» (АИК). Сопоставление материалов конференции с историографией отечественной исторической информатики позволяет охарактеризовать теоретические и прикладные проблемы применения информационных технологий и математических методов в исторической науке, выявить новые тенденции развития этой междисциплинарной области в современную эпоху. Основное внимание уделяется таким аспектам, как развитие и взаимодействие современных информационных технологий, профессиональных информационных ресурсов, а также аналитических методов и подходов. Исследование использует методы классификации и сравнительного анализа эволюции проблематики материалов конференций АИК по направлениям и научным школам, сложившимся в исторической информатике за последние 25 лет. Информационной основой является полнотекстовая историографическая коллекция и библиографическая база данных публикаций под эгидой АИК. В результате исследования показано, что проблематика конференции соответствует двум основным направлениям исторической информатики: информационному, ориентированному на создание и использование информационной инфраструктуры – электронных ресурсов, баз данных, исторических ГИС, 3D реконструкций объектов историко-культурного наследия, и аналитическому, связанному с обработкой и анализом исторических источников с помощью методов компьютерного моделирования, математической статистики, контент-анализа, сетевого и пространственного анализа. Взаимодействие этих направлений обеспечивает быстро растущий корпус источников, доступных в цифровых форматах в режиме онлайн, необходимым исследовательским инструментарием.
Владимиров В.Н. - Рецензия: Юмашева Ю.Ю. Информатизация архивного дела в Российской Федерации (1991-2015 гг.). Научные исследования в области применения информационных технологий: монография / Ю.Ю. Юмашева.– М.; Берлин: Директ-Медиа, 2016.– 355 с. c. 173-178

DOI:
10.7256/2585-7797.2017.3.24224

Аннотация: Настоящая статья представляет собой рецензию на монографию Ю.Ю.Юмашевой "Информатизация архивного дела в Российской Федерации (1991-2015 гг.)". Отмечается, что обобщение опыта исследователей и практиков архивоведения за почти 30 лет позволяет получить ценнейшие результаты, связанные с оценкой общей «вписанности» процессов информатизации архивного дела в процесс информатизации всех отраслей современной жизни страны. Ю.Ю. Юмашева широко известна научной общественности не только как профессиональный архивист с большим опытом работы, но и как историк-исследователь, специализирующийся в области исторической информатики. Анализируется и признается удачной структура монографии, состоящая из нескольких проблемно-тематических блоков, включающих рассмотрение основных моментов информатизации архивного дела. В рецензии дается высокая оценка монографии. Новизна исследования заключается в том, что оно ликвидирует существенные пробелы в области архивоведения и будет очень полезно всем, кто интересуется российскими архивами, их состоянием, перспективами, содержащимися в них документами и, конечно, превращением их в современные учреждения, соответствующие уровню информационного общества.
Другие сайты издательства:
Официальный сайт издательства NotaBene / Aurora Group s.r.o.
Сайт исторического журнала "History Illustrated"